printer iconPrinter-friendly Version


Schumer, Clinton Announce Over $4 Million For The John F. Kennedy International Airport

Federal Funds Will be Used to Improve Runway Safety

Washington, DC - U.S. Senators Charles E. Schumer and Hillary Rodham Clinton today announced that the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) has awarded $4,081,704 in Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) funds to the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey for the John F. Kennedy International Airport.  Federal funds will be used to improve runway safety. 


“With air traffic reaching an all-time high in New York, it’s crucial that travelers going to and from JFK have safe and efficient air service,” said Schumer. “This money will help JFK remain a world class airport by making essential improvements to its infrastructure.”


“This is welcome news for the John F. Kennedy International Airport,” said Senator Clinton.  “This funding will be used for necessary runway improvements that are critical to the airport’s continued maintenance and operation.  It is especially important to provide safe and efficient air service at one of the nation’s busiest airports and I am pleased we can continue to provide support in this way.”


The Port Authority of New York and New Jersey will use the federal funds to improve the Overrun Safety Area of Runway 22L.



Resource Center
chuck around new york icon
Chuck in New York
See what Chuck has been doing in
your area lately
Casework Icon
Services for New Yorkers
For help cutting through the federal government's red tape
Tours Icon
Schedule a Tour
Plan your trip to Washington D.C.
Veterans Icon
Veterans Assistance
Help for those who have served our nation
Protecting Consumers icon
Protecting Consumers
Help and Resources for New York consumers
Grants Assistance icon
Grants Assistance
Guide to applying for federal grants
Financial aid assistance icon
Financial Aid Assistance
Guide to applying for federal financial aid
e-newsletter icon
facebook icon
twitter icon
youtube icon
flickr icon
CMF Bronze Mouse Award for the 111th Congress