Skip to content


Funding Will Help Reduce Wastewater Treatment Costs And Catalyze Commercial Development 

Village Of Heuvelton Will Receive $376K To Decommission Existing Wastewater Treatment Plant And Construct 8.6 Miles Of Sewer Main

Senators: NBRC Funding Will Keep Village Of Heuvelton Flowing

U.S. Senator Charles E. Schumer and U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand today announced $376,190 in federal funding for the Village of Heuvelton to decommission its existing wastewater treatment plant, and construct 8.6 miles of sewer main to Ogdensburg’s plant. The funding was allocated through the Northern Border Regional Commission’s (NBRC) State Economic & Infrastructure Development grant, which prioritizes employment generating projects that have helped reduce poverty, unemployment, and outmigration in the North Country.

“Effective water-sewer systems are critical for both public health and a vibrant local economy, and this federal funding will allow the Village of Heuvelton to reduce costs, allowing for job and business retention,” said Senator Schumer. “I am proud to announce this federal investment and I will continue fighting to ensure rural communities across Upstate New York have the resources they need to build, protect and maintain their infrastructure.”

“I’m excited to announce this grant for Village of Heuvelton to make much-needed upgrades to the city’s aging wastewater system,” said Senator Gillibrand, member of the Senate Environment and Public Works Committee. “A reliable wastewater system is essential to the health and wellbeing of local residents. Modernizing the wastewater system will boost the local economy’s recovery by creating jobs and retaining business. I’m proud to help deliver this critical funding and I will always work in the Senate to ensure North Country communities have the resources needed upgrade their water and wastewater infrastructure.”

The NBRC is a federal-state partnership focused on the economic revitalization of communities across the Northern Border region, which includes northern Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, and New York. The Commission is composed of the governors of the four Northern Border states and a federal co-chair, and provides financial and technical assistance to communities in the region to support entrepreneurs, improve water, broadband, and transportation infrastructure, and promote other initiatives to improve the region’s economy. The northern border region of New York State includes 28 counties: Cayuga, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara, Oneida, Orleans, Oswego, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Sullivan, Washington, Warren, Wayne, Yates.