Skip to content


Funding Will Be Used to Purchase New Equipment and Enhance Curriculum to Help Prepare Students for Jobs in Tech

Washington, DC – Today, U.S. Senate Minority Leader Charles E. Schumer and U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand announced $149,677 in federal funding for Jamestown Community College in Chautauqua County. The funding will be used to improve its robotics and engineering programs to help students and workers get jobs in tech fields like mechanical engineering, electronics, computer engineering, and telecommunications engineering. Specifically, the funding will help purchase state-of-the-art equipment and update curriculum to include the latest technology being used by local employers. At least 10 companies, 35 students, 5 workers, and 1,150 K-12 participants will benefit from this new robotics and advanced technology programming.

“This vital investment will kick Jamestown Community College’s advanced technology programming into a higher gear, helping prepare students to get and keep the good-paying jobs of the future,” said Senator Schumer. “This federal funding will boost STEM education across Western New York, working to give students access to learning opportunities for skills that will make them competitive in both college and the workplace. I’m proud to announce this well-earned funding, and will always fight to deliver resources that invest in our students, institutions and communities.”

“A STEM education is critical to preparing our students to get jobs in a 21st century economy,” said Senator Gillibrand. “I am happy to announce this funding for Jamestown Community College, which will help train students for success in engineering, robotics, and advanced technology. Investing in our students and workers is one of the best ways to strengthen our local workforce, and I will always fight for the resources to help them be successful.”

The funding was allocated through the Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC). The ARC is an economic development agency of the federal government and 13 state governments focusing on 420 counties across the Appalachian region. More information can be found here.