Skip to content

Schumer: Groups In 13 New York Counties Eligible For Federal Loans To Help Pay For Damage Caused By Storms This Spring

At Schumers urging, the President this week declared Allegany, Cattaraugus, Erie, Chautauqua, Delaware, Herkimer, Ontario, Saratoga, Schoharie, Stueben, Ulster, Washington and Yates Counties disaster areas for the storms and flooding of May & June 04

Non-profit organizations in these counties can apply for the federal loans from the Small Business Administration at special low intere

US Senator Charles E. Schumer today announced that nonprofit organizations in thirteen counties in upstate New York are eligible for special rate federal loans to help pay for damages caused by storms during May and June of this year. At Schumers urging, Allegany, Cattaraugus, Erie, Chautauqua, Delaware, Herkimer, Ontario, Saratoga, Schoharie, Stueben, Ulster, Washington and Yates counties were declared disaster areas by the President, making them eligible for these loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).

This is what the federal government ought to be all about stepping in with relief for devastated areas when they need it most. The rain and the flooding this spring hit New York communities very hard. Crops were lost, homes, businesses, damns and streets were under water and dealing with the mess cost New Yorkers millions of dollars, Schumer said. These loans will come to the rescue of the countless groups and organizations that were ready and willing to come to the rescue of New Yorkers throughout the State.

The storms and flooding which occurred between May 13 and June 17 caused millions in damages to homes, businesses, roads and other infrastructure in the counties. At the conclusion of the storms, Schumer wrote the President, urging him to declare the counties a disaster area and to provide Federal Emergency Management Area (FEMA) funding and to make organizations within the county eligible for FEMA related programs including the SBAs disaster relief loan program.

Under the program, nonprofit organizations that provide essential services of a governmental nature are eligible for disaster loans at interest rates as low as 2.75%. Organizations can apply for the loans with the SBA until October 4,2004.

In his June 24 letter to the President requesting the designation for these counties, Schumer wrote, These storms have caused significant damage to New York States infrastructure including roads, bridges and dams. Private property, as well as serious impediments for local entities to respond to emergencies, has also been experienced, and called for a robust response to these communities in need.

Last week, FEMA announced that it would provide relief to localities in all thirteen counties to help pay for costs incurred by the damages. Schumer said that the SBA disaster loan program is designed to supplement the FEMA relief funding.